The First Thing

that comes to mind when I see today’s one word ‘riff’ prompt is this man’s talent.

I’m not very well versed when it comes to reviewing extraordinary music. I always come off sounding like a star struck school girl.

But what can I say? Whenever I listen to my friend’s music, I’m left speechless – without words … or, if you will, awestruck.

Any avid music enthusiast might agree with me when I say there are maybe a handful of artists who have the capability to move mountains with their music. Tim Donahue is one of them. How many musicians can play such complex compositions on a self-crafted intricate instrument, and sing? To top it off, he has composed hundreds of unique pieces, ranging from ethereal jazz, to progressive rock and metal. The average listener would never be able to wrap their head around the way his mind works. He sometimes calls himself a madman. Maybe he’s an alien, like he joked about the other night.

A couple of days ago, I had a rare opportunity to attend one of his gigs. I would share a video I filmed, but out of respect for his wishes and endless hours of hard work, I will only post official videos from his YouTube channel.

Here is a piece he performed the other night.

Because my brother saved me a seat right in front, I needed to be careful with my eyes. So, I took the opportunity to observe other folks around me. They were truly mesmerized and blown away by his talent.

Here’s the best part about this man: He not only creates and performs some of the best harp guitar music ever, but he is also a beast on the regular guitar when he occasionally performs on his flying v electric guitar. His 2004 Madmen & Sinners CD drew such a large progressive metal audience, it left many wanting MORE.

A few follow-up tracks with James LaBrie’s vocals were recorded, but never officially released. One of those tracks can be heard here.

There is also a track from his current rock opera project, THE CAGE. Many of his progressive metal fans are anxiously awaiting more material, and a possible release date. We are keeping our fingers and toes crossed!

Meanwhile, various tracks can be found on several of his sites. Here’s the opening track to THE CAGE.

I simply cannot find the right words to describe how talented he is. If anyone is ever in Japan, be sure to check his official website for any gigs he may have listed. You will not be disappointed.

1 thought on “The First Thing

  1. Pingback: Author Interview – Wayne Avrashow – “Roll the Dice” (Political Thriller) | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.